ICC Cricket WC 2011 match South Africa vs Ireland, Live Score Card

In the 34th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 between South Africa and Ireland at the largest cricket stadium in India, Kolkata’s Eden Gardens stadium, the Irish captain William Porterfield won the toss and decided to bowl first.

In 1991, the South African team had returned to international cricket at Eden Gardens.

South Africa and Ireland have made one change each in their playing XI from the last match. Ireland captain William Porterfield has given chance to seamer Trent Johnston in the playing XI in place of Andre Botha.

South African batsman AB de Villiers, who is the third highest run getter in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, forced to sit on bench due to injury. Colin Ingram replaced AB de Villiers, and got a World Cup debut. Leg spinner Imran Tahir is also watching the games from dressing room due to his fractured thumb.

South Africa and Ireland team have played twice before the today’s match where the Africans won on both the occasions. During the 2007 Cricket World Cup, South Africa won by seven wickets against the Irish team by using D/L system in the Super Eights.

If South Africans are victorious today, their place in the last eight will be confirmed. The Irish team has made the biggest upset after winning against the English team in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 tournament.
Here are the playing XI between South Africa and Ireland at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens stadium in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011:

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Morne van Wyk (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel.

Ireland: William Porterfield (capt), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O’Brien (wk), Gary Wilson, Kevin O’Brien, Alex Cusack, John Mooney, Trent Johnston, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin.

Check here for>>> Live Score Card, Cricket World Cup Points Table

Explore posts in the same categories: Citizen Journalism

%d bloggers like this: