ICC WC 2011 do-or-die contest England vs West Indies, Live Score Card

THE ENGLISH team, which reached the final of the Cricket World Cup last time in 1992, is all set for a do-or-die battle against West Indies in its final group league match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 at M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai after a short while today, March 17.

The English team with five points from five matches, is standing at the fifth position in group ‘B’. West Indies and Bangladesh have six points from four and five matches respectively, whereas India has seven points from five matches. South Africans have already sailed into the knock out round.

England will be missing the services of star batsman Kevin Pietersen and fast bowler Stuart Broad due to their injuries. Captain Andrew Strauss and off-spinner Graeme Swann, who missed the nets on Tuesday caused an injury scare but latest reports say that they are fit to play.

If West Indies wins against England in the 36th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 then it will automatically qualify for the quarter finals along with India and Bangladesh, otherwise the Caribbeans team will have to pray for the defeat of Bangladesh against South Africa, and they must win against India in the last league match on Sunday, March 20 to reach quarterfinals.

During the ongoing Cricket World Cup, England won four matches and lost one match against West Indies. In the final game of the Super 8 stage of 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup, the English team beat host West Indies by one wicket at Kensington Oval in Barbados. This was the last appearance for West Indies captain and legend batsman Brian Lara in international cricket.

In the now-or-never contest today at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, probable squads are as following:
England (probable): Andrew Strauss (capt), Matt Prior (wk), Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Paul Collingwood, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Chris Tremlett.

West Indies (probable): Chris Gayle, Devon Smith, Darren Bravo, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy (capt), Devon Thomas (wk), Nikita Miller, Sulieman Benn, Kemar Roach.

Check here for>>> Live Score card, Cricket World Cup Points Table

Explore posts in the same categories: Citizen Journalism

%d bloggers like this: