ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 match Pakistan vs Australia, Live Score Card

STAGE IS ready at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo for a big fight in the 40th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 between two group ‘A’ quarter finalists, defending champion Australia and Pakistan.

Meanwhile, the Australian captain Ricky Ponting has won the toss and decided to bat first against Pakistan.
Shahid Afridi has made one change in the playing XI from the last match against Zimbabwe. Umar Akmal returned in the playing XI after recovering from his ankle injury. He replaced Ahmed Shehzad, who was not looking in a good form.

Shoaib Akhtar, who announced his retirement two days back, has again been left out from the playing XI. It is probable that he may play against Australia.

Australian captain Ricky Ponting has decided to go with the same team that beat Canada by seven wickets on March 16 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

In the flood-lit encounter both Pakistan and Australia are playing their last group league match in the Cricket World Cup 2011 and both the teams have won four of the five matches so far. This match will decide the actual position of group ‘A’ quarter finalists. If Pakistan wins this match, it will finish top of the group and Australia third, whereas if Australias win, they will go top and Pakistan will finish fourth.

The Australian team has won 34 matches in a row in the Cricket World Cup, and lost their last Cricket World Cup match against Pakistan during a group league match in the 1999 Cricket World Cup at Headingley. In the final of the World Cup in 1999, Australia won against Pakistan and lifted trophy.

Here are the playing XI of Pakistan and Australia in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo:
Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez, Kamran Akmal (wk), Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi (capt), Abdul Razzaq, Umar Gul, Abdur Rehman, Wahab Riaz.

Australia: Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (wk), Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke, Cameron White, Michael Hussey, Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Jason Krejza, Shaun Tait.

Check here for>>> Live Score Card, Cricket World Cup Points Tab le

Explore posts in the same categories: Citizen Journalism

%d bloggers like this: